top of page

NHS Blood Drive

By Joey DeJoseph


The East Wake Academy National Honor Society was able to collect 16 units of blood during a recent blood drive at school.

Many people came out to help out and donate, including high school teacher Kriston Haynes, who also serves as an NHS advisor. “I like knowing that my decision to donate blood could possibly save a life. I hope that East Wake Academy can continue providing blood drives,” added Haynes, who said she has always taken advantage of opportunities to give blood.

NHS President, senior Eli Gardner, also showed up and donated blood. He hopes other students will consider giving blood, adding the process was “easy and painless.” Gardner said he was also pleased with the turnout. “Thank you to everyone who came out and donated. For me, I donated wanting to know I was making an impact on someone in less fortunate circumstances than myself. I know if I was in a similar situation I would want someone to do the same for myself.”

In addition to 16 units of blood, NHS collected $360, which will go to the school art and dance programs.



bottom of page